The Family A Proclamation to the World

I first saw this idea at my neighbors house… Her mom took her proofs from her wedding photos and put them around a framed copy of The Family: A Proclamation to the World. At this time I was married and had 2 kids. I didn’t really want to use only wedding photos, but I also didn’t want to exclude my future children by using current family pictures. So I literally have been waiting for almost 6 years to do this project. We are pretty sure 5 kids is our magic number, as we have taken medical steps to make it so. That being the case I finally decided that it would be alright to do this project.

For years I had a blank mat around my Proclamation.

IMG_7611

Blank Mat

I wanted to show the progression of my family thus far. So I put everything from wedding pictures to current family pictures into a folder on the computer. Now for the research. I searched photo printing sites for wallets size photos. I was looking at $13-$20 range for my prints, which was more than I wanted to pay. Besides I didn’t need multiple copies of these photos.  Most are already in scrap books. I took my problem to my personal engineer, my husband. He had the suggestion putting 2 pictures on 1 print. This can be done with a number of programs, but he did it in paint. I had the pictures printed at walmart.com. They were running a sale on free shipping. So my prints for this project cost $1.40ish… basically a 90% savings. Thank goodness for my personal engineer.

2 Pictures 1 Print

2 Pictures 1 Print

Next I cut apart the photos. I started placing photos around to get a feel for placement.

IMG_7612

Testing Placement

IMG_7613

Tentative Placement

Next trim the photos to fit on the mat.

IMG_7615

Trim to fit mat.

Use adhesive of your choice to hold pictures in place. I just used a scrapbook adhesive because it was easy to use and acid free. Start on a corner to keep it square.

IMG_7614

Start on a corner to keep it square.

Once all pictures are glued down trim any that went past the mat. This can be done with an exacto knife which will give a nice edge. I just used scissors so my edge is a little rougher.

IMG_7616

Trim Overhang.

Center the proclamation in the mat. Then glue down.

IMG_7617

Center it.

When we made two pictures into one we did not make sure that each was exactly 1/2 of a 4×6 print. So some of our pictures were larger and some were smaller. Which is fine, but it left me with some white space. So I added an embellishment. It says our last name on the top and established with our wedding anniversary on the bottom.

IMG_7620

Embellishment

Then I put my masterpiece back in the frame. I can honestly say it isn’t perfect, but I love it! This will be treasured for years to come it was worth the six year wait.

IMG_7623

Our Family Proclamation

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

