Canvas Print…. for less.

Recently my mother-in-law took a picture of our family…

Everyone was actually looking the right direction and smiling. Which is a pretty amazing feat for a family of 7.  I really wanted a canvas print, but alas we are on a budget. I normally get my prints and photo projects from artscow.com. I do this mainly because they have lots of free shipping or you get free items and just pay shipping.

Unfortunately they wanted $34.99 for a 20″ x 16″ stretched canvas, plus shipping ($24.99… yikes). That is considerably more than I was willing to spend.  Currently they have a special offers section. They had a 20″x16″ unstretched canvas for 17.99 w/free shipping. So I ordered my print with that. But lets face it an unstretched canvas doesn’t look too hot on the wall.

So I did what any girl in my situation would do. I sent my husband to the hardware store and had him buy a 1″x2″ (they come in an 8′ length). Then we made a frame and stretched the canvas and stapled it to our frame. Our 1″x2″ cost around $1.50. So I got my custom canvas on my wall for under $20…. now that fits in my budget.

IMG_7648

Family Portrait on DIY Frame

IMG_7647

DIY frame for stretched canvas.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

